Manifesto

PPI is involved in the construction and management of programmes aimed at preventing the socio-economic resilience of populations excluded from the traditional channels of education and employment. PPI particularly supports young people and women living in priority countries for Official Development Assistance (ODA).   

The international NGO mobilises experts to develop the economic autonomy of the most fragile populations, by acting through three components called “business lines”:

Education and financial inclusion 
By working on the emergence of financial services and distribution networks adapted to the needs of these populations and by developing financial education programmes.

Entrepreneurship 
By supporting associations and cooperatives in the definition and implementation of services adapted to the needs of entrepreneurs, including the training required to create and develop sustainable income-generating activities.

Inclusive value chains
Supporting small-scale producers in accessing markets, in cooperation with the largest international buyers of agricultural products, to structure fair agricultural value chains and strengthen the quality of production.

Activities are spread over 15 countries, concentrated in priority regions: Sub-Saharan Africa (46%), Indian Ocean (13%) and Middle East and North Africa (15%). With 43 active projects in 2020, PPI’s actions have reached a total of more than 12 million beneficiaries worldwide.

We work on all the factors that trigger development on the ground, with the aim of reaching the greatest number of beneficiaries contributing to positively transforming our world for future generations.

History

1998 : PlaNet Finance

PlaNet Finance was created on October 13th 1998 by Jacques Attali. The initial mandate of the organisation was to enable populations excluded from financial services to borrow, save or insure themselves through the development of microfinance.

2015 : Positive Planet International

In 2015, PlaNet Finance became Positive Planet, then Positive Planet International (PPI) in 2017. Within the collective composed of Positive Planet France, the Positive Planet Foundation and the Positive Economy Institute, PPI broadens its scope of action and organises its activities around 3 business lines: (1) financial education and access to financial services, (2) support for business creation and (3) strengthening inclusive value chains.

2021 : PPI – SOS GROUP

In 2021, Positive Planet International joins forces with SOS GROUP and becomes PPI (People, Power, Inclusion). The entity keeps its three international business lines.

SOS GROUP, Europe’s leading social enterprise, works primarily for the benefit of the most vulnerable, future generations and the territories. Today, nearly 2 million people benefit from the actions and innovations of SOS GROUP, carried out by its 22,000 employees and its 600 associations, companies and establishments in France and abroad.

PPI is now taking part in SOS GROUP international action, actively participating in the Group’s development, alongside a dozen other entities in over 40 countries. Complementarity is the watchword of SOS GROUP, which is always seeking to maximise its impact through the collaboration of its subsidiary organisations but also with external partners.

Governance

PPI is an association under French law, created in July 2021. The governance of PPI is built on the same model as all the non-profit organisations of SOS GROUP; i.e. as an associative subsidiary of the Group with the 4 founding associations of SOS GROUP Board Members (Solidarités, Santé, Séniors, Jeunesse). Its President is Frédéric Bailly, member of SOS GROUP Executive Board in charge of international activities.

Financial transparency

The majority of PPI’s funding comes from grants from bilateral (e.g. AFD, Enabel, Dutch Embassy) and multilateral (e.g. EU, UN Agencies) public donors. Because of its technical expertise in economic development, PPI acts as a service provider and technical assistance provider to companies and donors, always for the benefit of the most excluded populations.

As an example, in 2020, PPI won 28 projects with a total budget of 4.3 million euros.

PPI BUDGET IN 2020 BY REGION (amounts in K€)

PPI BUDGET IN 2020 BY BUSINESS LINES (amounts in K€)

Manifeste

PPI intervient dans la construction et la gestion de programmes visant à prévenir la résilience socio-économique des populations exclues des circuits traditionnels de l’éducation et de l’emploi. PPI soutient en particulier les jeunes et les femmes vivant dans les pays prioritaires de l’aide publique au développement.

L’ONG internationale mobilise des expert.es pour développer l’autonomie économique des populations les plus fragiles, en agissant via trois composantes appelées “business lines” :

Éducation et inclusion financière
En travaillant à l’émergence de services financiers et de réseaux de distribution adaptés aux besoins de ces populations et en développant des programmes d’éducation financière.

L’entrepreneuriat
En appuyant les structures associatives et coopératives dans la définition et la mise en place de services adaptés aux besoins des entrepreneur.es et notamment les formations nécessaires pour créer et développer des activités génératrices de revenus durables.

Les chaines de valeur inclusives
En accompagnant les petit.es producteurs.trices à accéder au marché, en coopération avec les plus grands acheteurs internationaux de produits agricoles, pour structurer des chaînes de valeur agricole équitables et renforcer la qualité des productions.

Les activités sont réparties dans plus de 15 pays, concentrées dans des régions prioritaires : Afrique Subsaharienne (46 %), Océan Indien (13 %) et Moyen-Orient et Afrique du Nord (MENA) (15 %). Avec 43 projets actifs en 2020, les actions de PPI ont touché un total de plus 12 millions de bénéficiaires à travers le monde.

Nous travaillons sur tous les facteurs qui déclenchent, sur le terrain, une dynamique de développement, dans le but d’atteindre le plus grand nombre de bénéficiaires contribuant à transformer positivement notre monde pour les générations futures.

Historique

1998 : PlaNet Finance

PlaNet Finance a été créée le 13 octobre 1998 par Jacques Attali. Le mandat initial de l’organisation était de permettre aux populations exclues des services financiers de pouvoir emprunter, épargner ou s’assurer par le développement de la microfinance.

2015 : Positive Planet International

En 2015, PlaNet Finance devient Positive Planet, puis Positive Planet International en 2017. Au sein du collectif composé de Positive Planet France, la Fondation Positive Planet et l’Institut de l’Economie Positive, PPI élargit son champ d’action et organise ses activités autour de 3 business lines: (1) l’éducation financière et l’accès aux services financiers, (2) l’appui à la création d’entreprises et (3) le renforcement de chaînes de valeurs inclusives.

2021 : PPI – GROUPE SOS

En 2021, Positive Planet International se rapproche du Groupe SOS et devient PPI (People, Power, Inclusion). L’entité garde ses trois business lines à l’international.

Le GROUPE SOS, première entreprise sociale d’Europe, œuvre principalement au profit des plus vulnérables, des générations futures et des territoires. Ce sont aujourd’hui près de 2 millions de personnes qui bénéficient des actions et des innovations du GROUPE SOS, menées par ses 22.000 employés et ses 600 associations, entreprises et établissements, en France et à l’international.

PPI prend désormais part à l’action du GROUPE SOS à l’international participant activement au développement du Groupe, aux côtés d’une dizaine d’autres entités dans plus de 40 pays. La complémentarité est le maître mot du GROUPE SOS qui cherche toujours à maximiser son impact par la collaboration de ses organisations filiales mais aussi avec des partenaires externes.

Gouvernance

PPI est une association Loi 1901 de droit français, créée en juillet 2021. La gouvernance de PPI est construite sur le même modèle que toutes les organisations à but non lucratif du GROUPE SOS ; c’est à dire comme filiale associative du Groupe avec pour membres du Conseil d’Administration les 4 associations fondatrices du GROUPE SOS (Solidarités, Santé, Séniors, Jeunesse). Son Président est Frédéric Bailly, membre du Directoire du GROUPE SOS en charge de l’international.

Transparence financière

La majorité des financements de PPI proviennent de subventions de la part de bailleurs publics bilatéraux (ex : AFD, Enabel, Ambassade des Pays-Bas) et multilatéraux (ex : UE, Agences des Nations Unies). Du fait de son expertise technique en développement économique, PPI agit en tant que prestataire de services et d’assistance technique auprès d’entreprises et de bailleurs de fonds, toujours au profit des populations les plus exclues.

A titre d’exemple, en 2020, PPI a gagné 28 projets pour un budget de 4.3 millions d’euros au total.

LE BUDGET DE PPI EN 2020 PAR RÉGION (montants en K€)

LE BUDGET DE PPI EN 2020 PAR BUSINESS LINES (montants en K€)